Main content

2017 fixture revealed

Trigg's take on fixture Carlton CEO Steven Trigg spoke to Carlton Media after the release of the 2017 AFL fixture.

A more balanced, family-friendly schedule is a key hallmark of Carlton Football Club’s 2017 fixture. 

The Blues will once again open the 2017 AFL season in the traditional blockbuster clash with Richmond on Thursday 23 March at the MCG. 

Following the AFL’s official unveiling of the 2017 fixture on Thursday morning, CEO Steven Trigg said the scheduling provided a positive platform for Blues supporters. 

“We are mostly satisfied with our fixture for 2017, and believe it is fair and reasonable,” Trigg said.

“From our members' point of view, we believe they will be happy with an increase in the traditional slots across Saturday afternoon and Saturday night games. Pleasingly, we have 10 matches at the MCG in 2017, with six of those being home games. Additionally, the Saturday night games provide some balance.  

“Our broad supporter base, extending to young families, will also welcome the increase in afternoon matches. We will ensure we continue our family-friendly, match-day activations to further encourage supporters of all ages to get to the games.  

“However, our draw does again present some commercial challenges for the football club, including a lack of Friday night timeslots and no scheduled home game against Collingwood." 

Click here to sync Carlton's 2017 fixture to your calendar

Of Carlton’s 16 matches in Victoria, 11 are home games with six to be played at the MCG and five at Etihad Stadium. 

The Blues will face Richmond, Melbourne, Essendon, Gold Coast Suns and Sydney on two occasions next year.  

Carlton will play six interstate games in 2017, travelling to Adelaide, Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane, as well as Perth twice. For the first time since 2014, Carlton will play in South Australia.

“It is a chance to visit our South Australian supporters for the first time in nearly three years. We have a large supporter base there, so it will be a great opportunity to reconnect with our members across the border,” Trigg said.  

“Our West Australian supporters are also key beneficiaries of this fixture, with two games scheduled at Domain Stadium next year. We receive fantastic support from Carlton fans wherever we play across the country. 

“Overall this is a positive fixture that our members and supporters can be pleased with.”

CARLTON'S 2017 FIXTURE:

Round Opponent Venue Time (all times local) Date Host TV network
1 Richmond (H) MCG 7:20pm Thursday, March 23 Seven
2 Melbourne (A) MCG 3:20pm Sunday, April 2 Seven
3 Essendon (H) MCG 3:20pm Sunday, April 9 Seven
4 Gold Coast (H) Etihad Stadium 7:25pm Saturday, April 15 Foxtel
5 Port Adelaide (A) Adelaide Oval 7:20pm Friday, April 21 Seven
6 Sydney (H) MCG 2:10pm Saturday, April 29 Foxtel
7 Collingwood (A) MCG 2:10pm Saturday, May 6 Foxtel
8 St Kilda (A) Etihad Stadium 2:10pm Saturday, May 13 Foxtel
9 Fremantle (A) Domain Stadium 2:40pm Sunday, May 21 Foxtel
10 North Melbourne (H) Etihad Stadium 3:20pm Sunday, May 28 Seven
11 BYE        
12 GWS (H) Etihad Stadium 3:20pm Sunday, June 11 Foxtel
13 Gold Coast (A) Metricon Stadium 7:25pm Saturday, June 17 Seven
14 Richmond (A) MCG 3:20pm Sunday, June 25 Seven
15 Adelaide (H) MCG 2:10pm Saturday, July 1 Foxtel
16 Melbourne (H) MCG 3:20pm Sunday, July 9 Seven
17 Western Bulldogs (H) MCG 3:20pm Sunday, July 16 Seven
18 Brisbane (A) The Gabba 4:40pm Sunday, July 23 Foxtel
19 Geelong (H) Etihad Stadium 7:25pm Saturday, July 29 Seven
20 Essendon (A) MCG 2:10pm Saturday, August 5 Foxtel
21 West Coast (A) Domain Stadium 5:40pm Saturday, August 12 Foxtel
22 Hawthorn (H) Etihad Stadium 7:25pm Saturday, August 19 Seven
23 Sydney (A) SCG TBC TBC TBC