Main content

Blues' updated free agency list

Blues News | Round 20 Grace Phillips brings you all the news from Ikon Park as the Blues prepare for Saturday's clash against Essendon.

The AFL has distributed an updated list of restricted and unrestricted free agent players to the 18 clubs across the competition.

Carlton’s unrestricted free agents include Dennis Armfield, Levi Casboult, Matthew Kreuzer, Kade Simpson and Simon White. 

Under the rules that were agreed between the AFL and AFL Players Association (AFLPA) in February 2010, restricted and unrestricted free agents may consider offers from rival clubs during the post-season period, following the 2017 Toyota AFL Premiership Season. An offer to a player only includes capped salary and capped ASA (Additional Service Agreements) amounts.

Under the AFL Player Rules, an unrestricted free agent may automatically move to the club of his choice. An offer to a restricted free agent may be matched by his club, which has right of first refusal over his services. If the restricted free agent player does not wish to remain with his original club, he must enter the draft or seek a trade.

Compensation in the form of AFL allocated draft picks will apply to clubs with a net loss of free agents, based on the formula determined by the AFL.