Main content

Plowman re-commits

Carlton IN Business | 2018 Carlton is proud to launch it's Carlton IN Business program for 2018.

Christmas has come early for Blues supporters this year, with key defender Lachie Plowman putting pen to paper on a two-year contract extension.

The 23-year-old has recommitted to Carlton for a further two years, taking his current agreement with the Club through to the end of 2020.

Taken by the GWS Giants at pick No.3 in the 2012 NAB AFL National Draft, Plowman found his way to Ikon Park via the 2015 trade period in a bumper trade deal between the two clubs.

The versatile defender has played 60 senior games since making his debut in Round 1, 2013 and finished the 2017 season ranked 12th in the league for disposal efficiency. In a career-best season, Plowman finished first at the Blues for disposal efficiency, second for one-percenters (94) and third for intercepts (112). 

Head of Football Andrew McKay said the contract extension for Plowman was fitting reward for his consistent contribution to the side in 2017.

“Lachie has been a very dependable contributor for our backline since making his way to Ikon Park at the end of 2015 and we’re delighted someone of his character and ability will be at our club for a further two years,” McKay said.

“Under the guidance of Kade Simpson and Sam Docherty across the backline this year, Lachie has made the most of his opportunity in defence, managing 21 consecutive games for the first time in his career.

“We’ll be eager to see Lachie take his game to another level in 2018 and beyond as a key pillar in defence for our side.”   

Lachie Plowman has proved a crucial part of Carlton's defence since joining the Blues from GWS. (Photo: AFL Media)

Hailing from Macedon in Victoria, Plowman this year reached the 50-game milestone in Round 12 against his former side, having played 20 games for GWS between 2013 and 2015 before joining the Blues. 

Plowman joins Matthew Kreuzer and Sam Rowe who have recently recommitted to the Club, alongside Sam Docherty, Liam Jones, Ed Curnow, Dale Thomas, Charlie Curnow, David Cuningham, Nick Graham, Jed Lamb, Alex Silvagni, Kym Lebois, Kade Simpson, Levi Casboult, Zac Fisher, Sam Petrevski-Seton, Harry McKay, Andrew Phillips, Tom Williamson, Ciaran Byrne, Harrison Macreadie and Matthew Wright, who have all re-signed in 2017.