Main content

New Blues on show in Ballarat

AFLW leaders announced Head of Football Andrew McKay announces Carlton's AFLW 2018 leaders.

CARLTON will blood its 11 new AFLW players, including star signings Tayla Harris and Nicola Stevens, when it faces the Western Bulldogs in a practice match at Ballarat’s Mars Stadium on Saturday 20 January. 

Led by newly appointed captain Bri Davey, the Blues will head west in search of a strong showing before their AFLW season opener against Collingwood at Ikon Park on Friday 2 February.


Joining All-Australians Harris and Stevens in Ballarat will be footy newcomers Kerryn Harrington and Maddison Gay, who have impressed at Carlton since crossing over from basketball and netball respectively. 

Draftees Georgia Gee, Sophie Li, Reni Hicks and Bridie Kennedy will also be on show, while rookies Tiahna Cochrane, Katie-Jayne Grieve and Courtney Webb are set to make their first appearances in the navy blue.

Carlton's top draft pick Georgia Gee will line up against the Bulldogs in Ballarat. (Photo: AFL Media)

Danielle Hardiman and Natalie Plane are also locked in, having recovered from the ankle injuries which cruelled their 2017 campaigns. 

The Blues will run out in their new-look clash guernsey, which captures the story of their historic first AFLW season.


Entry to Mars Stadium is free, with gates opening at 6pm for a 7pm bounce.

Support our Game Changers in their second season. Sign up as a Carlton AFLW member here.