Main content

Simpson wins John Nicholls Medal

CFC TV: Simpson - 2013 John Nicholls Medallist Kade Simpson spoke to CFC TV after he was named the 2013 John Nicholls Medallist.
Described by his teammates as the “heart and soul” of the Carlton Football Club, vice captain Kade Simpson has taken out his first John Nicholls Medal as Carlton’s Best & Fairest player for Season 2013.
Simpson won the count ahead of teammates Andrew Walker and Lachie Henderson.
It’s been a big year for Simpson, who played his 200th AFL match in the Semi-Final against Sydney at ANZ Stadium. The 29-year-old is one of just five Carlton players to play in every game in 2013, and he had the highest number of disposals in the team with 533 for the season.
Blues Coach Mick Malthouse says the award is deserved recognition for one of Carlton’s most courageous men.
“Kade is one of those players who shows great courage by putting his body on the line week after week,” Malthouse said.
“When the team is challenged on the field, Kade is always one of the first to stand up, paying the price physically but also reaping the rewards.
“He has had a magnificent season and has been a real worry to the opposition with his run and ball use. I congratulate Kade on this terrific achievement.”
Simpson was drafted to Carlton with pick No.45 in the 2002 National Draft and made his debut the following year aged 19, in Round 11 against Geelong.
Carlton President Stephen Kernahan said Simpson came to the Club “weighing 60 kilos dripping wet,” but courage and sheer determination has seen the slightly framed No.6 become one of the Blues most consistent players.
Simpson has been a part of Carlton’s leadership group since 2007 and is second behind Bruce Doull for playing the most consecutive games in the Navy Blue, at 158.
Simpson’s Stats
DOB: 5 May 1984
Games: 200
Debut: Round 11, 2003 v Geelong
Guernsey No. 6
Carlton Player No. 1066
Goals: 117
Simpson’s Career Highlights
2005 Pre-season Premiership Player
2006, ‘08 International Rules Series
2007-13 Leadership Group
2007 Stand-in Captain
2008 Jim Stynes Medal
2013 John Nicholls Medal
2013 John Nicholls Medal Top 10
1          Kade Simpson
2          Andrew Walker
3          Lachie Henderson
4          Ed Curnow
5          Bryce Gibbs
6          Michael Jamison
7          Zach Tuohy
=8       Chris Judd
=8       Brock McLean
9          Jeff Garlett
Other award winners include:
Best Clubman                          
Ed Curnow

Best First Year Player            
Jaryd Cachia

High Achiever Award             
Lachie Henderson

Most Determined Award        
Lachie Henderson

Spirit of Carlton Award           
Andrew Walker

Carlton Ambassador Award  
Nick Duigan

Ruthless Award                       
Kade Simpson