Main content

Gibbs wins 2014 John Nicholls Medal

#JNM2014: Winner Bryce Gibbs is the 2014 John Nicholls Medal winner.

Bryce Gibbs has been rewarded for his outstanding season by taking out his first John Nicholls Medal as Carlton’s Best and Fairest.

Gibbs was presented with the award at Crown Palladium this evening, where he was also awarded Life Membership of the Carlton Football Club. It comes on the back of Gibbs earning his first nomination for the All-Australian squad.

The 25-year-old enjoyed his most consistent season to date in 2014, as one of only three Carlton players to run out for all 22 games. He topped the Club’s average disposals with 24.77 per game and also laid the most tackles in the team with 108 for the season.

Every year since being recruited with the No. 1 draft pick in 2006, Gibbs has polled in the top 10 for the John Nicholls Medal. Significantly, this year he was part of Carlton’s leadership group and in June he inked a new five-year deal to remain at Carlton until at least the end of 2019.

Carlton coach Michael Malthouse said the award is well deserved.

Bryce Gibbs also took home the 2014 Hyundai MVP Award. (Photo: Carlton Football Club)

“Bryce is a young man who has committed himself to this football club and thrown himself right into the training that’s required for excellence,” Malthouse said.

“This season in particular, he has been a very consistent player, a durable player, and he has grown tremendously in his leadership.

“I know I speak for everyone at Carlton when I say we are delighted for Bryce. This achievement shows he is now reaping the benefits of all his hard work.”

Gibbs won the count ahead of captain Marc Murphy and last year’s John Nicholls Medalist, vice-captain Kade Simpson.  

Other award winners on the night include:

Best First Year Player – Ciaran Sheehan

Blues Coterie Most Improved Player Award – Sam Rowe

Best Clubman – Dylan Buckley
The Best Clubman award recognises the significant contribution a player has made to the Carlton Football Club, particularly with his role in the playing group. 

Spirit of Carlton Award – Dylan Buckley
Presented to the player who encompasses the spirit of the Carlton Football Club on and off the field.

DI Count Award – Sam Rowe
The DI Count Award recognises the player with the best defence indicators or one percenters.

Inner Blue Ruthless Award – Marc Murphy
The Ruthless Award is presented to a player who displays selfless commitment and has a significant influence on the outcome of games.

The Carltonians High Achiever Award – Kade Simpson
The High Achiever Award is presented by Carlton’s longest-serving coterie group the Carltonians in recognition of an outstanding season.

Sam Rowe took home the 2014 DI Count Award. (Photo: Carlton Football Club)

Women of Carlton Player Ambassador Award – Simon White
The Player Ambassador Award recognises a player who contributes in a significant way to the wider community.

Hyundai MVP Award – Bryce Gibbs
A new award recognising the Most Valuable Player as voted by the fans through Carlton’s Hyundai Engine Room.

2014 John Nicholls Medal Top 10

1       Bryce Gibbs

2       Marc Murphy

3       Kade Simpson

4       Chris Yarran

5       Sam Rowe

6       Michael Jamison

= 7    Andrejs Everitt

= 7    Chris Judd

9       Sam Docherty

10     Dale Thomas

Gibbs’ Stats
DOB: 15 March 1989
Games: 177
Goals: 98
Debut: Round 1, 2007 v Richmond
Guernsey No. 4
Carlton Player No. 1100

Gibbs’ Career Highlights
2007          Leadership Group
2007          Pre-season Premiership Player
2007          Rising Star Nomination
2007          Best First Year Player
2007          9th Best and Fairest
2008          5th Best and Fairest
2009          3rd Best and Fairest
2010          4th Best and Fairest
2011          3rd Best and Fairest
2012          8th Best and Fairest
2013          5th Best and Fairest
2014          All-Australian squad nomination
2014          Winner Best and Fairest