Main content

AFLW captains back Blues

Gillon McLachlan at AFLW Launch AFL Chief Executive Gillon McLachlan speaks at the launch of the AFLW season.

Blues fans, here’s something to smile about.

The captains of each of the AFLW teams have given their stance on how the inaugural season will play out – and things are looking good for the Blues. 

According to the eight women, Carlton – along with the Western Bulldogs, Fremantle and Collingwood will be the competition’s strong forces and are likely contenders for the first AFLW premiership.

The talent of Carlton’s marquee players Bri Davey and Darcy Vescio has not been lost on the captains with Davey expected to be one of the best players who has come from another sport and Vescio a strong chance to top the goalkicking.

The full survey results were (eight captains polled):

Which Team Will Win The 2017 NAB AFL Women’s Flag?

3 - Western Bulldogs

2 – Fremantle, Carlton

1 – Collingwood

Who will win the NAB AFL Women’s Best and Fairest?

3 – Daisy Pearce (Melbourne)

2 – Kara Donnellan (Fremantle), Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs)

1 – Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows)

Who will be the best player coming from another sport?

3 –Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows/basketball)

1 – Ellie Brush (GWS Giants/soccer), Bri Davey (Carlton/soccer), Gemma Houghton (Fremantle/basketball), Cat Phillips (Melbourne/frisbee), Helen Roden (Collingwood/basketball)

Who will top the goalkicking?

2 – Mo Hope (Collingwood)

1 – Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs), Mel Caulfield (Fremantle), Ellyse Gamble (Western Bulldogs), Taylor Harris (Brisbane Lions), Sarah Perkins (Adelaide Crows), Darcy Vescio (Carlton)

Who will win the NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star?

2 – Ashley Sharp (Fremantle)

1 – Nicola Barr (GWS Giants), Deanna Berry (Melbourne), Jasmine Garner (Collingwood), Shaleise Law (Brisbane Lions), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Hayley Miller (Fremantle)

Carlton captain Lauren Arnell alongside her fellow AFLW captains and premiership cup ambassador Susan Alberti. (Photo: AFL Media)