Main content

Blues recognised at VFL awards

AFLW Highlights | State Of Origin Victoria takes on the Allies in this AFLW clash.

Players from both the Carlton AFLW and Northern Blues teams were duly acknowledged for outstanding seasons at last night's VFL best-and-fairest awards.

On a night where the best of both the VFL and VFL Women's competitions were recognised, there was no shortage of Blues up on centre stage.

Half a dozen Game Changers were named in the VFLW Team of the Year: Brianna Davey (St. Kilda Sharks), Alison Downie (Diamond Creek), Sarah Hosking (Seaford), Gabriella Pound (Melbourne University), new Blue Nicola Stevens (Melbourne University) and Darcy Vescio (Darebin Falcons). 


It was the start of a big night for Davey, who would ultimately go onto place second in the Swisse Wellness VFL Women's best-and-fairest award for the second straight season.

Leading all comers by four votes after Round 9, Davey (17 votes) was ultimately pipped to the award by the Darebin Falcons' Katie Brennan (21 votes).


Later in the night, VFL-listed Cameron O'Shea would continue the good news for the Blues with his spot in the VFL Team of the Year.

The versatile defender was named at centre-half-back, following a brilliant campaign which saw him lead the competition for marks while coming second in effective kicks and rebound 50s.

After his stellar start to the 2017 year at VFL level, Liam Jones led the J. J. Liston Trophy count after six rounds before his recall to the AFL side.

He would ultimately share top spot on Northern's club leaderboard with O'Shea, captain Tom Wilson and ball magnet Nick Graham with eight votes.The Northern Blues' best and fairest - the Laurie Hill Trophy - will be awarded on Friday, October 13.