Main content

Murphy wins John Nicholls Medal

First place | 2017 JNM Marc Murphy is crowned the 2017 John Nicholls Medallist.

Carlton captain Marc Murphy has been rewarded for his outstanding form this season, taking home his second John Nicholls Medal at Crown Palladium on Friday night.

The 30-year-old finished this evening’s count on 174 votes, edging out defender Sam Docherty (169) and ruckman Matthew Kreuzer (164).

Murphy and Docherty also shared the fan-voted Hyundai MVP Award after both receiving 314 votes.

Watch Murphy's interview with Carlton Media

Murphy was one of seven Blues to play every game in 2017, leading the Club for disposals, contested possessions, score involvements and inside 50s. He also finished ninth in the competition for effective possessions.

Senior coach Brendon Bolton said it was a well-deserved accolade for the hard-working skipper.

“Marc once again led from the front in 2017, and is a deserving winner of his second John Nicholls Medal,” Bolton said.

“As captain, Marc sets an outstanding example to his teammates. The way he has continued to develop as a leader whilst actively engaging in a new football program over the past two seasons shows his enormous character and he has played an integral role in ensuring players and coaches are aligned at all times.” 

“His ability to guide and mentor our younger players whilst performing at a consistently high level is a credit to him and demonstrates his commitment to driving values and standards on and off the field.”

2016’s John Nicholls Medallist Sam Docherty trailed by only five votes at the final count. The ever-reliable defender carried over his impressive form into this season, earning a maiden Virgin Australia AFL All-Australian selection, which was the Club’s first since 2011.

In 2017, the 23-year-old averaged 28 disposals, nine marks and six rebound 50s. 

Watch Docherty's interview with Carlton Media

Matthew Kreuzer, who enjoyed a career-best season, placed third overall in the count and won an array of honours including the Spirit of Carlton Award, Inner Blue Ruthless Award and the William A. Cook Trophy.

In a season that saw him play his 150th game in the navy blue, the 28-year-old averaged 15 disposals, five tackles and 32 hitouts.

Watch Kreuzer's interview with Carlton Media

Rounding out the top 10 in the vote count was Bryce Gibbs (130) in fourth place, followed by Kade Simpson (103), Matthew Wright (96) in sixth, Lachie Plowman (95) seventh, Patrick Cripps (92), Liam Jones (84) and Charlie Curnow (81).

Following a stellar debut season, topped off by a NAB AFL Rising Star nomination, classy midfielder Sam Petrevski-Seton was named the Club’s Virgin Australia Best First Year Player

Recently retired cult hero Dennis Armfield took out the Best Clubman Award, recognising the significant contribution he has made to the Carlton Football Club, particularly with his role in the playing group.  


1st – Marc Murphy (174 votes)
2nd – Sam Docherty (169)
3rd – Matthew Kreuzer (164)
4th – Bryce Gibbs (130)
5th -  Kade Simpson (103)
6th – Matthew Wright (96)
7th – Lachie Plowman (95)
8th – Patrick Cripps (92)
9th – Liam Jones (84)
10th -  Charlie Curnow (81)

The Carlton Football Club congratulates the following award winners for 2017: