Main content

2019 VFL fixture announced

Alex Johnson joins Northern Blues Ex-Swan Alex Johnson has joined the Northern Blues VFL side as Head of Development.

The curtain raiser is set to return for the Northern Blues in 2019 following the release of the VFL fixture for next season.

While still to be confirmed, the Blues could have as many as six curtain raisers, to be played at both the MCG and Marvel Stadium.

Confirmation will come in the new year, with Northern’s games in Rounds 8, 9, 11, 18, 19 and 20 potentially coming at the AFL grounds. Five of those are expected to come prior to Carlton matches.

The Blues will kick their season off in Round 2 with a trip down the highway, taking on Geelong at GMHBA Stadium after having a bye on the opening weekend of the season.


Northern’s first home game will be against Werribee in Round 4 at Preston City Oval, in what will be one of four home games at Cramer Street.

That also includes a return of the Battle of Bell Street on Queen’s Birthday weekend, with Northern to host local rivals Coburg on Sunday 9 June.

The Blues will have double-up fixtures against Collingwood, Geelong, North Melbourne and Sandringham: the games against the Pies (Round 4) and North (Round 17) will come at Victoria Park and Arden Street respectively.


Northern will have to wait until the penultimate game of the season to take on the reigning premiers, not playing Box Hill until Round 20. That game is scheduled for Marvel Stadium or Box Hill City Oval, pending arrival.

With 15 teams in the competition, the Blues will have three byes including Round 1. The other two will come in Round 6 as well as Round 12, with the latter in line with Carlton’s bye in the AFL.

Sign up today to become a Northern Blues member in 2019.

Round Game Venue Date Time
2 Geelong vs. Northern Blues GMHBA Stadium Sunday 14 April 1pm
3 Collingwood vs. Northern Blues Victoria Park Saturday 20 April 2pm
4 Northern Blues vs. Werribee Preston City Oval Saturday 27 April 2pm
5 Northern Blues vs. North Melbourne Preston City Oval Sunday 5 May 2:30pm
7 Northern Blues vs. Frankston Preston City Oval Saturday 18 May 2pm
8 Sandringham vs. Northern Blues Marvel Stadium* Sunday 26 May 11:40am
9 Essendon vs. Northern Blues Windy Hill Sunday 2 June 11:40am
10 Northern Blues vs. Coburg Preston City Oval Sunday 9 June 1pm
11 Northern Blues vs. Footscray Marvel Stadium* Saturday 15 June 2pm
12 BYE
13 Northern Blues vs. Geelong Ikon Park Saturday 29 June 2pm
14 Casey Demons vs. Northern Blues Casey Fields Saturday 6 July 2pm
15 Port Melbourne vs. Northern Blues Adcon Stadium Saturday 13 July 2pm
16 Northern Blues vs. Williamstown Ikon Park Sunday 21 July 11am
17 North Melbourne vs. Northern Blues Arden Street Saturday 27 July 2pm
18 Northern Blues vs. Collingwood Marvel Stadium* Sunday 4 August 11:40am
19 Richmond vs. Northern Blues MCG* Sunday 11 August 11:40am
20 Box Hill Hawks vs. Northern Blues Marvel Stadium Sunday 18 August 12:30pm
21 Northern Blues vs. Sandringham Ikon Park Sunday 25 August 1pm