Main content

Your guide to the John Nicholls Medal

Will 2015 John Nicholls Medal winner Patrick Cripps go back-to-back on Friday night? (Photo: Carlton Media)
Will 2015 John Nicholls Medal winner Patrick Cripps go back-to-back on Friday night? (Photo: Carlton Media)

The John Nicholls Medal is the most prestigious event on the Carlton calendar, as the Blues faithful unites to celebrate the most outstanding individual achievements of 2016.

Won last year by Patrick Cripps, Carlton's highest individual honour is named after club legend and five-time best-and-fairest winner John Nicholls.

Here are all the awards to be presented at Crown Palladium on Friday night:

Carltonians Achievement Award (presented at approx. 7:50pm)

As selected by the Carltonians - the Blues' original and longest-serving coterie - the Achievement Award is presented in recognition of a player's outstanding season.

2015 winner: Tom Bell

Blues Coterie Most Improved (presented at approx. 7:55pm - 8pm)

The Blues Coterie Most Improved award is given to the player who has shown the most improvement over the 2016 season.

2015 winner: Patrick Cripps

Bill Lanyon Inner Blue Ruthless Award (presented at approx. 7:55pm - 8pm)

Named in honour of the late Bill Lanyon - one of Carlton's strongest supporters - the Ruthless Award is presented to a player who displays selfless commitment and has a significant influence on the outcome of games.

2015 winner: Patrick Cripps

Spirit of Carlton Award (presented at approx. 7:55pm - 8pm)

The Spirit of Carlton Award is presented to the player who best encompasses the spirit of the Carlton Football Club on and off the field.

2015 winner: Ed Curnow

Hyundai MVP Award (presented at approx. 7:55pm - 8pm)

The Hyundai MVP (Most Valuable Player) Award is voted purely by fans.

2015 winner: Patrick Cripps

Best First-Year Player (presented at approx. 9pm)

This award is presented to Carlton's most outstanding first-year player.

2015 winner: Blaine Boekhorst

Best Clubman (presented at approx. 9:05pm)

The Best Clubman award recognises the significant contribution a player has made to the Carlton Football Club, particularly with his role in the playing group.

2015 winner: Simon White

John Nicholls Medal (presented at approx. 10:45pm)

Carlton's highest individual honour is awarded to the best-and-fairest player of 2016.

2015 winner: Patrick Cripps


Guests are encouraged to arrive at Crown Palladium at 6:30pm, with proceedings to get underway at 7pm sharp.

Coach Brendon Bolton and president Mark LoGiudice will address the audience, while women's coach Damien Keeping and priority selection will be interviewed on stage.

There will also be the chance to farewell the recently retired Andrew Walker, who will be in attendance.

Carlton Media will also live stream the John Nicholls Medal from 7pm via this link.

Be sure to join in the conversation on social media using the hashtag #JNM2016

If you're attending the event, you can also add our John Nicholls Medal geo-filter to your snapchats!

Follow Carlton on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, audioBoom and Snapchat (carlton_fc) for live updates, behind-the-scenes content, audio, interviews with the winners and all the glitz and glamour from the Blues' night of nights.