Main content

Samo earns Rising Star nod

Samo lauded in team meeting Samo Petrevski-Seton is awarded the NAB Rising Star award in the team meeting after an electrifying performance against Collingwood in Round 7.

Carlton youngster Samo Petrevski-Seton has been named the Round 7 NAB AFL Rising Star nominee.

The 19-year-old stood out in his Blues' 23-point victory over Collingwood at the MCG on Saturday, kicking two goals, gathering 22 possessions – 10 of those contested – and laying three tackles in a remarkable performance.

He becomes the Blues' second Rising Star nominee in as many weeks, following in the footsteps of defender Caleb Marchbank.

Petrevski-Seton is flanked by his teammates after booting one of his two goals against Collingwood. (Photo: AFL Media)

Petrevski-Seton, who was taken at pick No.6 in the 2016 NAB AFL Draft, played his junior football with the Halls Creek Football Club in the East Kimberley Football League before moving to Perth and representing Claremont in the WAFL. 

A graduate of the NAB AFL Academy, Petrevski-Seton represented Western Australia in Division One of the 2014 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships where he won the best and fairest medal. He received All-Australian honours the following year representing Western Australia in the 2015 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships as a bottom-aged player.

The 180cm midfielder made his AFL debut in the blockbuster season opener against Richmond, despite missing the JLT Community Series because of a quad injury.

Watch Petrevski-Seton's highlights against Collingwood

Following each round of the home-and-away season, a panel of judges select a NAB AFL Rising Star nominee. At the completion of the season, one of these nominees will be chosen as the 2017 NAB AFL Rising Star. 

The 2017 NAB AFL Rising Star winner will be awarded the Ron Evans Medal, a $20,000 personal investment folio and a dedicated personal banker, courtesy of NAB.


2016 – Jacob Weitering

2015 – Patrick Cripps

2014 – Troy Menzel, Dylan Buckley

2013 – None

2012 – None

2011 – None

2010 – Jeff Garlett, Chris Yarran

2009 – Aaron Joseph

2008 – Shaun Grigg, Matthew Kreuzer

2007 – Bryce Gibbs

2006 – Marc Murphy

2005 – Adam Bentick, Kade Simpson

2004 – Karl Norman, Andrew Walker

2003 – Trent Sporn, Jarrad Waite, Brad Fisher

2002 – None

2001 – None

2000 – Ryan Houlihan

1999 – Brett Backwell

1998 – Darren Hulme, Kris Massie

1997 – Lance Whitnall

1996 – None

1995 – Scott Camporeale, Adrian Whitehead

1994 – James Cook, Troy Bond

1993 – Ang Christou