Main content

Six Blues in AFLW State of Origin

Blues News | Round 19 Grace Phillips brings you all the news from Ikon Park as the Blues prepare for Saturday night's clash against Geelong.

Carlton is set to headline the NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match later this year with six of the Blues’ women’s players named to feature in the clash between Victoria and the Allies.

Carlton and Melbourne are the highest-represented Victorian teams with six players each split across the two teams, while Brisbane has the most for the league with eight players selected for the match.

Initial squads of 20 players were selected based on the 2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women’s All-Australian squad, with additional players to be announced at a later date.

So far for the Blues, inaugural best-and-fairest player Brianna Davey, leading goalkicker Darcy Vescio, key defender Danielle Hardiman, ruckman Alison Downie and recent recruits Nicola Stevens and Tayla Harris will pull on their boots for the match on Saturday 2 September at Etihad Stadium. 

Everyone looks better in navy blue. #AFLW #BoundByBlue

A post shared by Carlton Football Club (@carlton_fc) on


While Davey, Vescio, Downie, Hardiman and Stevens will be teammates within the Victorian side, Queensland-born Harris will run out for the Allies, with selection based on the place of birth of the players rather than the state they currently play in.

The Allies will be led by Adelaide premiership coach Bec Goddard, while Melbourne AFLW football operations manager Debbie Lee will coach Victoria.  

The match, which will be free to enter and broadcasted live nationally on the Seven Network and Foxtel, will coincide with the AFL season’s pre-finals bye as part of the Celebration of Football week. 


Brianna Davey (Carlton)

Darcy Vescio (Carlton)

Alison Downie (Carlton)

Danielle Hardiman (Carlton)

Nicola Stevens (Carlton)

Karen Paxman (Melbourne)

Daisy Pearce (Melbourne)

Melissa Hickey (Melbourne)

Lily Mithen (Melbourne)

Jasmine Grierson (Melbourne)

Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs)

Emma Kearny (Western Bulldogs)

Hannah Scott (Western Bulldogs)

Sarah D’Arcy (Collingwood)

Jess Cameron (Collingwood)

Sarah Perkins (Adelaide)

Kaitlyn Ashmore (Brisbane)

Kara Donnellan (Fremantle)

Jess Dall Pos (Greater Western Sydney)

Alicia Eva (Greater Western Sydney)


Tayla Harris (Carlton)

Elise O’Dea (Melbourne)

Emma King (Collingwood)

Chelsea Randall (Adelaide)

Erin Phillips (Adelaide)

Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide)

Courtney Cramey (Adelaide)

Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane)

Emily Bates (Brisbane)

Emma Zielke (Brisbane)

Jess Wuetschner (Brisbane)

Kate McCarthy (Brisbane)

Leah Kaslar (Brisbane)

Sam Virgo (Brisbane)

Ebony Antonio (Fremantle)

Kirby Bentley (Fremantle)

Dana Hooker (Fremantle)

Erin McKinnon (Greater Western Sydney)

Emma Swanson (Greater Western Sydney)

Renee Tomkins (Greater Western Sydney)