Main content

Your guide to #JNM2017

Sam Docherty | 2016 John Nicholls Medallist Carlton Media speaks to the 2016 John Nicholls Medalist Sam Docherty.

The John Nicholls Medal, proudly presented by Hyundai, is the most prestigious event on the Carlton calendar, as the Blues faithful unites to celebrate the most outstanding individual achievements of 2017.

Won last year by Sam Docherty, Carlton's highest individual honour is named after club legend and five-time best-and-fairest winner John Nicholls.

History of the John Nicholls Medal

The Blues’ best-and-fairest award began in 1929, before taking a four-year hiatus and being renamed the Robert Reynolds Trophy from 1934-2003.

Since 2004, it has been named the John Nicholls Medal in honour of the Blues’ former No.2, who won the best and fairest a club-record five times.

Champion defender Bruce Doull ranks second with four best-and-fairest awards, ahead of Craig Bradley, Brett Ratten, John James and Chris Judd (three).

Should Docherty claim the 2017 Nicholls Medal, he'll join just five players – Bruce Comben (1957-’58), James (1960-’61), Nicholls (1966-’68) Geoff Southby (1971-’72) and Judd (2008-'10) – in receiving Carlton’s highest individual honour in successive years.

Here's a full list of Carlton's best-and-fairest winners.


William A. Cook Trophy (formerly Carltonians Achievement Award)

The William A. Cook Trophy is for the best-and-fairest player as voted by Carltonians members throughout the season. Three members give 3-2-1 votes after every home-and-away match.

2016 winner: Kade Simpson

Inner Blue Ruthless Award

The Inner Blue Ruthless Award is presented to a player who displays selfless commitment and has a significant influence on the outcome of games.

2016 winner: Kade Simpson

Spirit of Carlton Award

The Spirit of Carlton Award is presented to the player who best encompasses the spirit of the Carlton Football Club on and off the field.

2016 winner: Kade Simpson

Hyundai MVP

The Hyundai MVP (Most Valuable Player is voted purely by fans.

2016 winner: Patrick Cripps

Virgin Australia Best First-Year Player

This award is presented to Carlton's most outstanding first-year player.

2016 winner: Jacob Weitering

Best Clubman

The Best Clubman award recognises the significant contribution a player has made to the Carlton Football Club, particularly with his role in the playing group.

2016 winner: Ed Curnow

John Nicholls Medal

Carlton's highest individual honour is awarded to the best-and-fairest player of 2016.

2016 winner: Sam Docherty

Sam Docherty won last year's John Nicholls Medal ahead of Patrick Cripps (second) and Kade Simpson (third). (Photo: Carlton Media)


Guests are encouraged to arrive at Crown Palladium at 6:30pm, with proceedings to get underway at 7:10pm sharp.

Coach Brendon Bolton and president Mark LoGiudice will address the audience, while Carlton's five 2017 Rising Star nominees and recent retiree Dennis Armfield will be interviewed on stage.

AFLW best-and-fairest winner Brianna Davey will also appear on stage.

Carlton Media will live stream the John Nicholls Medal via (desktop and mobile).

Be sure to join in the conversation on social media using the hashtag #JNM2017

Follow Carlton on FacebookTwitterInstagramaudioBoom and Snapchat (carlton_fc) for live updates, behind-the-scenes content, audio, interviews with the winners and all the glitz and glamour from the Blues' night of nights.