Main content


AFLW leaders announced

1:30pm  Jan 12, 2018

Davey receives AFLW captaincy

9:00am  Jan 12, 2018

Captaincy a 'massive honour'

8:45am  Jan 12, 2018

Free agency period begins  October 6, 2017 2:07 PM

Silvagni outlines Draft strategy As the NAB AFL Draft Combine enters its third day at Etihad Stadium, Grace Phillips caught up with List Management & Strategy manager Stephen Silvagni.


THE free agency period has officially commenced, with just 13 players across the competition eligible for free agency.

The updated list of restricted and unrestricted free agent players of the 18 clubs across the competition can be seen below.

Under the rules that were agreed between the AFL and AFL Players Association (AFLPA) in February 2010, restricted and unrestricted free agents may consider offers from rival clubs during the post-season period. An offer to a player only includes capped salary and capped ASA (Additional Service Agreements) amounts.

Under the AFL Player Rules, an unrestricted free agent may automatically move to the club of his choice. An offer to a restricted free agent may be matched by his club, which has right of first refusal over his services. If the restricted free agent player does not wish to remain with his original club, he must enter the draft or seek a trade.

Compensation in the form of AFL allocated draft picks will apply to clubs with a net loss of free agents, based on the formula determined by the AFL. 


Tom Rockliff (Brisbane); Steven Motlop (Geelong); Scott Thompson (North Melbourne); Jackson Trengove (Port Adelaide). 


Claye Beams (Brisbane); Simon White (Carlton)Lachlan Keeffe, Ben Sinclair (Collingwood); Ben Howlett (Essendon); Zac Clarke, Nick Suban (Fremantle); Daniel Menzel (Geelong Cats); Taylor Duryea (Hawthorn).