TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content


New Blues receive numbers

Carlton Media  December 13, 2017 6:00 PM

Shaw hungry to earn a spot Carlton Media spoke to rookie Matt Shaw about his first few weeks at the Blues.

THE Blues’ two top-10 draftees have been awarded the No.2 and No.4 guernseys, as Carlton today unveiled the new guernsey numbers for 2018.

Paddy Dow, Carlton’s first pick in the 2017 NAB AFL Draft, will take the Club’s previously vacant No.2 guernsey, while Lochie O’Brien will run out in the navy blue wearing the No.4 guernsey next season.

Fellow draftees Tom De Koning, Angus Schumacher and Jarrod Garlett will commence life at the Blues in the No.12, No.19 and No.21 guernseys respectively.

Exciting young midfielder Matthew Kennedy, who arrived at Ikon Park from GWS via the 2017 trade period, will take the No.7 guernsey, while former Kangaroo Aaron Mullet has been handed the No.18 jumper. Former Gold Coast utility Matthew Shaw will wear the No.37 guernsey.

Fellow recruits Darcy Lang and Matthew Lobbe will take the Nos.16 and 27 respectively, while former Northern Blues best-and-fairest winner Cameron O’Shea will continue to wear the navy blue in the No.24 guernsey.

Newly arrived Irishman Cillian McDaid, who has been listed as a Category B Rookie with the Blues, will wear the No.45 guernsey. 

No.2, Paddy Dow. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.4, Lochie O'Brien. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.7, Matthew Kennedy. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.12, Tom De Koning. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.16, Darcy Lang. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.18, Aaron Mullett. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.19, Angus Schumacher. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.21, Jarrod Garlett. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.24, Cam O'Shea. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.27, Matthew Lobbe. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.37, Matthew Shaw. (Photo: Carlton Media)

No.45, Cillian McDaid. (Photo: Carlton Media)


1 - Jack Silvagni

2 - Paddy Dow

3 - Marc Murphy

4 - Lochie O’Brien

5 - Sam Petrevski-Seton

6 - Kade Simpson

7 - Matthew Kennedy

8 - Matthew Kreuzer

9 - Patrick Cripps

10 - Harry McKay

11 - Sam Kerridge

12 - Tom De Koning

13 - Jed Lamb

14 - Liam Jones

15 - Sam Docherty

16 - Darcy Lang

17 - Sam Rowe

18 - Aaron Mullett

19 - Angus Schumacher

20 - Lachie Plowman

21 - Jarrod Garlett

22 - Caleb Marchbank

23 - Jacob Weitering

24 - Cameron O’Shea

25 - Zac Fisher

26 - Harrison Macreadie

27 - Matthew Lobbe

28 - David Cuningham

29 - Cameron Polson

30 - Charlie Curnow

31 - Tom Williamson

32 - Nicholas Graham

33 - Jarrod Pickett

34 - Andrew Phillips

35 - Edward Curnow

36 - Patrick Kerr

37 - Matthew Shaw

38 - Ciaran Byrne

39 - Dale Thomas

40 - Jesse Glass-McCasker

41 - Levi Casboult

42 - Kym Lebois

44 - Alex Silvagni

45 - Cillian McDaid

46 - Matthew Wright