FOR THE first time ever, Carlton will be undertaking a virtual Best and Fairest event, with a live stream revealing which players will receive awards for their efforts in the 2021 season. 

The coveted John Nicholls Medal is the top prize, with other prestigious accolades being awarded throughout the night.  

Last year's winner Jacob Weitering could be standing on top of the virtual podium for the second time, but there are plenty of others who will be pushing towards the apex of the leaderboard. 

Could we see another first-time winner of the John Nicholls Medal, in All-Australians Sam Walsh or Harry McKay? 

Here's what is up for grabs in tonight's event.

A member-exclusive stream of the event will be available here.

John Nicholls Medal

The Club’s highest individual honour, the John Nicholls Medal is awarded to the best and fairest player over the course of the season.
2020 winner:
Jacob Weitering

Four coaches (senior coach and three line coaches) have the opportunity to vote for as many players as they feel warrant a vote for each game on the following scale:

4 votes – outstanding performance

3 votes – excellent performance

2 votes – above expectation performance

1 vote – expected performance (trademark game)

A player therefore can receive a maximum of four votes from four coaches giving a maximum of 16 possible votes each round. 

03:30 Mins
Published on

Highlights | Weitering shines in 2021

Watch the best of Jacob Weitering in season 2021.

Published on

Best Clubman

The player who lives Carlton’s values and goes above and beyond for his teammates and club will be crowned Best Clubman.
2020 winner: Nic Newman 

Spirit of Carlton Award

The Spirit of Carlton Award is awarded to the player who embodies the spirit of the Carlton Football Club on and off the field.
2020 winner: Marc Pittonet 

Inner Blue Ruthless Award

The Inner Blue Ruthless Award is awarded to the player who displays bravery, resilience and commitment each week.
2020 winner: Jacob Weitering

William A. Cook Trophy

Over the course of the season, members of the Carltonians vote on a 3-2-1 basis. The player with the most votes at the end of the year is awarded the William A. Cook Trophy.
2020 winner: Sam Walsh

04:50 Mins
Published on

Highlights | Walsh's dominant 2021 season

Enjoy Sam Walsh in action during his sensational individual 2021 season.

Published on

Best Young Player

Replacing the best first-year player award, this is awarded to the Club’s most outstanding young player.
2020 winner: Tom De Koning 

Coaches Award

A new award for season 2020, this award is voted on by the coaches and nominates the player who has showcased the team’s values on the field and towards the playing group.
2020 winner: Jack Martin 

Most Valuable Bluebagger

Voted on by the playing group, this is a new award which tallies up player votes each week towards the teammate who got their job done over the course of the season.
2020 winner: Liam Jones 

03:43 Mins
Published on

Highlights | Jones' desperate defence in 2021

Check out some of the best highlights from Liam Jones' 2021 season so far.

Published on