WHO WILL take out Carlton’s most valuable player for the 2023 season?

Once again, it's that special time of the year for the Carlton VFLW side to come together and celebrate their history-making season.

The players will be rewarded this Friday for their outstanding performances throughout the season, and a couple of well-deserved winners will be announced. 

This year, the Blues had a much-improved side, with familiar faces taking their game to the next level. 

Maddie Di Cosmo, who was last year’s third-best and fairest, will be hoping to make her place up the podium after a stellar season, while last year’s winner Amelia Klingbeil proved why she is one of the favourites to go back-to-back.

Isabelle Khoury made her debut in the Navy Blue, joining skipper Christina Bernardi, who concluded the season with several solid performances.

The awards to be presented on Friday night will be as follows:

Best and Fairest Award:

The award reserved for the best-and-fairest player over the course of the season is the club's highest individual honour. 

Across the course of the season, the Senior Coach, along with three assistants, vote for as many players as they feel warrant a vote for each game on the following scale.

4 votes- Outstanding performance

3 votes- Excellent performance

2 votes- Above expectation performance

1 vote- Expected performance (trademark game)

A player can receive a maximum of four votes from four coaches, giving a maximum of 16 possible votes each round.

2022 Winner- Amelia Klingbeil

2022 Runner up- Lily Goss

2022 Third place- Maddi Di Cosmo

Coaches Award:

Voted by the Senior Coach in conjunction with the entire coaching group, the Coaches’ Award is presented to the player that has the greatest impact on team performance and has also had a positive impact on those around them throughout the course of the season.

2022 Winner- Bryannen Gurr

'Bagger of the year:

The 'Bagger of the year award is voted by the players and awarded to the player who lives the club and team values most consistently throughout the season.

2022 Winner- Ashlee Thorneycroft

Rising Star Award:

The best first-year player is awarded to the individual that has had the biggest impact during their first season.

As voted by the coaching group, this player must have made an impact on performance and standards both on and off the field.

2022 winner: Maddie Di Cosmo