THE ORDER for next week's NAB AFL Women’s Draft has been finalised, with compensation for injured and unavailable players now included.

The draft, which will be held on Tuesday, October 23, at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne, will see the 10 AFLW teams make up to 70 selections.

Carlton received pick No.42 as compensation for Sophie Li moving back to Adelaide due to her work commitments as a paramedic.

The Crows were allocated selection 53 as compensation for the unavailability of Jess Allan (work commitments/army) and Ruth Wallace (family reasons).

On Friday, the Blues officially committed pick No.16 to midfielder Abbie McKay, the competition’s first father-daughter selection.

Collingwood was given permission to make two pre-draft selections, as cover for Chloe Molloy, who will miss the season with a right foot injury, and to compensate for the large number of experienced players lost to other clubs. Sophie Alexander (pick No.29) and Erica Fowler (70) played with the Magpies’ VFLW team this year and were pre-selected last Friday.

Each team can sign 28 primary-listed players plus two cross-code rookies, with all but one of the rookies locked in. North Melbourne had signed its two before the September 28 deadline, but on Monday announced basketballer Tayla Roberts had decided not to pursue football. The Kangaroos were waiting on a ruling from the AFL as to whether they could sign another rookie to replace Roberts.

Clubs can choose to pass on their final picks if they wish to sign a player from another state as a free agent, as was the case when the Western Bulldogs signed West Australian Rachel Ashley last year.


1 Geelong
2 Geelong
3 Carlton
4 Fremantle
5 Collingwood
6 Melbourne
7 Geelong
8 Adelaide
9 Brisbane
10 Western Bulldogs
11 Collingwood
12 Greater Western Sydney

13 Collingwood
14 Geelong
15 Melbourne
16 Carlton – Abbie McKay (father-daughter selection)
17 Fremantle
18 Collingwood
19 Collingwood
20 Geelong
21 Carlton
22 Brisbane
23 Western Bulldogs
24 Geelong
25 North Melbourne

26 Western Bulldogs
27 Carlton
28 Fremantle
29 Collingwood – Sophie Alexander (compensation)
30 Adelaide
31 Melbourne
32 Collingwood
33 Brisbane
34 Western Bulldogs
35 Geelong
36 North Melbourne

37 Adelaide
38 Carlton
39 Fremantle
40 Carlton
41 Adelaide
42 Carlton
43 Greater Western Sydney
44 Melbourne
45 Brisbane
46 Western Bulldogs
47 Geelong
48 Adelaide

49 Carlton
50 Fremantle
51 Collingwood
52 Melbourne
53 Adelaide
54 Greater Western Sydney
55 North Melbourne
56 Brisbane
57 Geelong
58 North Melbourne

59 Fremantle
60 Greater Western Sydney
61 Brisbane
62 Geelong
63 North Melbourne

64 Fremantle
65 Greater Western Sydney

66 Fremantle
67 Greater Western Sydney

68 Fremantle
69 Greater Western Sydney
70 Collingwood – Erica Fowler (compensation)