Carlton Football Club has made further changes to its list today, informing Simon White, Billie Smedts and Blaine Boekhorst they will not be offered new contracts beyond 2017.

White’s was a story of perseverance, having been drafted by the Blues in the 2010 Rookie Draft before making his debut in Round 4 of the same year. The reliable utility made an admirable comeback to the field after fracturing vertebrae in 2013 and went on to be voted Best Clubman in 2015.

Arriving at Ikon Park via the 2016 AFL Trade Period from Geelong, Smedts managed nine senior games for the Blues this season. The 25-year-old was picked up by the Cats with their first-round selection in 2010, going on to play 47 career games between both clubs. 

Boekhorst was taken with Carlton’s first-round selection in the 2014 AFL National Draft from Western Australia and made his debut in Round 4 against St Kilda the following year. In 2017, the 24-year-old amassed a career-high 26 touches in the Blues’ win against Hawthorn in Round 22.

Head of Football Andrew McKay thanked the trio for their services to the Blues.

“Simon was a hard-working and popular member of our playing group and had an unfortunate string of injuries that restricted his ability to maintain consistent selection in the senior side this season,” McKay said.

“He has been a reliable contributor to our side since he arrived at the Club in 2010 and is a wonderful young man with a bright future ahead.

“We would also like to thank Billie for his services in his time at the Club. He provided valuable experience to a young playing group in the past year across both the AFL and VFL programs.

“Blaine arrived at the Club as a 21-year-old and managed to string together 25 senior games in his three seasons at the Club. We thank all three players for their contribution and wish them well for their futures.” 

The Club has now made 13 changes to its playing list since the end of the 2017 season, with Bryce Gibbs departing for Adelaide and Dennis Armfield, Daniel Gorringe and Matthew Korcheck announcing their retirements. Smedts, White, Boekhorst as well as Rhys Palmer, Dylan Buckley, Kristian Jaksch, Ciaran Sheehan, Liam Sumner and Andrew Gallucci have also been delisted.