A HANDFUL of Blues among the votes.

The AFLCA Champion Player of the Year votes are in for Round 16, with five Carlton players in total adding to their season’s tally.

Among the competition’s elite in the award this season, Sam Walsh has now polled 63 votes this year after polling a further five on the weekend.

01:22 Mins
Published on

AFL R16 | Sounds of Walsh's sensational sealer

Listen to Sam Walsh's clutch goal as called by FOX Footy, Triple M, ABC and AFL Nation.

Published on

With seven rounds to play in the home-and-away season, Walsh - who kicked a stunning snap to ice the game - now finds himself 13 votes behind competition leader Marcus Bontempelli.

He was pipped as the best Blue on the ground by Jacob Weitering, who polled seven votes - alongside Fremantle’s Sean Darcy - following a superb defensive display.

There was also room for acknowledgment for Patrick Cripps, who matched Walsh’s five after fighting through an early victory to will Carlton over the line.

The three leaders were joined by two key contributors on the night in Paddy Dow and Jack Silvagni.

Dow was explosive in the first half in particular on his way to finishing with 22 disposals and a goal, while Silvagni was similarly influential with 19 disposals and two goals.

AFLCA votes for Round 16
Sean Darcy — seven, Jacob Weitering — seven, Patrick Cripps — five, Sam Walsh — five, Andrew Brayshaw — four, Paddy Dow — one, Jack Silvagni — one