CARLTON has confirmed its four inclusions for Sunday’s clash with Greater Western Sydney.

It was announced earlier on Friday that Jesse Motlop would make his AFL debut for the Blues, in the process becoming Carlton player No.1230 in the process. 

01:50 Mins
Published ago

Highlights | Motlop excites in the VFL

Watch Jesse Motlop's best work for the Carlton Reserves in 2022.

Published ago

He will be joined in the side by Brodie Kemp for his first game of the season, coming up against the last team he faced at the elite level in Round 23 last season.

Featuring on the interchange, Kemp was named in the back line of last night’s squad announcement in the absence of Lewis Young, but the versatile youngster has played at both ends for the Carlton Reserves so far in 2022. 

The Blues have also received an on-ball boost with George Hewett named to play after missing the last fortnight with a corked calf. 

Hewett, who trained fully on Wednesday and Friday, will make the trip to the state where he spent the first eight seasons of his career.

11:42 Mins
Published on

Kennedy answers fan questions

In the latest edition of the People's Presser, Matthew Kennedy joined Carlton Media to answer some of your serious (and not-so-serious) questions.

Published on

Lachie Plowman also provides further defensive height for the Blues, named to play against his former side after missing last weekend’s win over Adelaide due to illness. 

Jordan Boyd and Matthew Cottrell - last week’s medical sub - have been omitted, alongside the forced changes of Jack Martin, Harry McKay and Lewis Young announced on Thursday.

Boyd and Cottrell join Paddy Dow and Lachie Fogarty as emergencies, with one to be named medical sub an hour before the bounce. 

Sunday’s game begins at 3:20pm AEST, and will be shown live on Channel 7 in Victoria.

Round 9 team v Greater Western Sydney


Nic Newman

Jacob Weitering

Lachie Plowman


Sam Docherty

Zac Williams

Adam Saad


Jack Newnes

Patrick Cripps

Sam Walsh


Lochie O'Brien

Charlie Curnow

Jack Carroll


Jesse Motlop

Jack Silvagni

Corey Durdin


Tom De Koning

George Hewett

Adam Cerra


Zac Fisher

Brodie Kemp

Matthew Kennedy


Matthew Owies



Jordan Boyd

Matthew Cottrell

Paddy Dow


Lachie Fogarty




In: George Hewett, Brodie Kemp, Jesse Motlop, Lachie Plowman
Out: Jack Martin (calf), Harry McKay (knee), Lewis Young (AFL Health and Safety Protocols), Jordan Boyd, Matthew Cottrell