WHEN Carlton met Essendon in Round 4 of the 2012 season, Jeremy Laidler collapsed with a dislocated kneecap in the opening minute and Andrew Carrazzo copped a busted shoulder in a questionable tackle not long after. 

The Blues, having poleaxed Richmond, Brisbane and Collingwood in successive weeks, suffered their first loss for the season in that one.

04:06 Mins
Published on

Throwback Thursday | Blues' 96-point rout of Bombers

Watch the best Carlton highlights from Round 21, 2012: the Blues' second-biggest win over the arch rival.

Published on

Fast forward to Round 21, and the Carlton 22 who took to the field on a cold, wet winter Saturday were, to say the least, hell bent on restoring order – and so it was by way of a 96-point hammering of the James Hird-coached Essendon outfit.

With Chris Judd a fairly handy in after completing a month-long enforced layoff, and the hard-nosed Nick Duigan an equally welcome inclusion, Carlton established an early three-goal buffer by the first change – and after weathering an early second-quarter challenge, snuffed Essendon out with an exhilarating 10-goal term. 

Kade Simpson, Andrew Walker (by way of a deft Eddie Betts knock-on) and Jarrad Waite were amongst the Carlton types who hit the scoreboard, and Levi Casboult’s thumping running goal from where the 50-metre line meets the boundary was something to truly behold.

04:27 Mins
Published on

Member moments wall unveiled

AFL Senior Coach Michael Voss shows off the recently completed member moments wall inside the IKON Park redevelopment.

Published on

By half-time it was all over and by game’s end, a glorious 96-point rout - second only to the Blues’ 100-point drubbing of the ‘Same Olds’ in Round 2, 1936 - had been realised.

Carlton v Essendon - Round 21, Saturday 18 August 2012

CARLTON                 5.3     15.4     20.9       24.12 (156)
ESSENDON              2.5     6.6       7.8         8.12 (60)

The Carlton team

B: Heath Scotland, Nick Duigan, Simon White
HB: Zach Tuohy, Andrew McInnes, Chris Yarran
C: Bryce Gibbs, Chris Judd (Capt.), Marc Murphy
HF: Andrew Walker, Dennis Armfield, Eddie Betts
F: Mitch Robinson, Jarrad Waite, Levi Casboult
Ruck: Matthew Kreuzer, Andrew Carrazzo, Ed Curnow
Interchange: Kade Simpson, Brock McLean, Jeffery Garlett
Substitute: Tom Bell
Coach:  Brett Ratten

Brownlow votes

3. Marc Murphy
2. Jarrad Waite
1. Kade Simpson