IN a bumper night of VFL and VFLW action, who will be crowned the respective best and fairests?

The Carlton VFLW and Northern Blues sides will celebrate their 2019 seasons ‪this Friday 11 October‬ at Mantra Bell City.

With last season’s Laurie Hill winner Tom Wilson and VFLW best and fairest Darcy Vescio both missing portions of the year, the race is wide open for new winners in Navy Blue.

Key timings

‪7pm – Formalities begins‬
‪7:35pm – Coaches’ speeches and awards‬
‪8:25pm – Vote counts commence‬
‪9:30pm – Vote counts continue‬
‪10:20pm – Vote count concludes‬


Laurie Hill Trophy

Named after Preston’s greatest player, the Laurie Hill Trophy is presented to the Northern Blues’ most outstanding and consistent player throughout the year.

2018 winner: Tom Wilson

Bullant Players’ Player of the Year

Accumulated over the course of the season, this award is voted on behalf of the players over the course of the season.

In line with the Club’s values, the winner of this award will have lived the ‘Ants’ Spirit’ to a T.

2018 winner: Sam Fisher

Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award

In honour of the Club’s longest-serving president, the Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award is given to the player who goes above and beyond the call of duty for the Club.

Presented by the Northern Blues’ volunteers, this accolade centres around who lives and breathes the football club.

2018 winner: Mason Blakey

Instant Steel Solutions Most-Improved Player

This honour speaks for itself. Presented by Instant Steel Solutions, it’s presented to the Northern Blues player who has worked hardest on their craft over the course of the season and has shown the results.

2018 winner: Chris McCabe


VFLW Best and Fairest

Carlton VFLW’s highest individual honour, the best-and-fairest award is presented to the most outstanding player over the course of the season.

2018 winner: Darcy Vescio

Players’ Player of the Year

An award voted on by the players for the players, this award celebrates on-field and off-field work.

Focusing on leadership and professionalism, the Players’ Player of the Year is all about admiration from peers.

2018 winner: Kristi Harvey

Blue Bloods Award

In line with the AFLW best and fairest, the Blue Bloods Award is voted on by the coaches.

The winner is determined as the player who upheld the Club’s values most consistently throughout the season.

2018 winner: Chloe Dalton

Best First Year Player Award

This award is voted by the senior coach and assistant coaches to the player in their first year that has impressed on-field.