IN FOR Friday night finals football.

Carlton has named its starting team of 22 for its elimination final against Sydney, recalling three names.

Captain Patrick Cripps is back after missing Round 24 with soreness, ready to lead his team into battle for his first final since arriving at IKON Park 10 years ago.


He’s joined by long-time teammate and great mate Sam Docherty as an inclusion, with the Blues veteran - who arrived at his boyhood club a month before Cripps in 2013 - will also be back in action for the elimination final.

The final inclusion comes in the form of Marc Pittonet, which was confirmed by Michael Voss in his press conference on Thursday morning: the change will see the Blues return to their two-ruck model, with Harry McKay playing exclusively up forward alongside fellow Coleman Medallist Charlie Curnow.


Pittonet will be playing his 50th Carlton game, as will dynamic forward Jack Martin.

After starting his own 50th game in Navy Blue as substitute a fortnight ago, Caleb Marchbank has been elevated into the starting side.

Coming out of the side are the omitted Paddy Dow, Corey Durdin, Zac Fisher and Ollie Hollands. One of Dow, Fisher, Hollands and Jesse Motlop will be named as sub an hour before the bounce.

Blake Acres has been selected to play after Voss stated the in-form wingman passed his fitness test “with flying colours”. He is one of five Carlton players heading into tomorrow night with finals experience, after arguably being Fremantle’s best performer in September action last year before his move to the Blues.


It will be the first time the Blues have a full midfield complement of Acres, Adam Cerra, Cripps, Docherty, George Hewett and Sam Walsh since the win over Port Adelaide back in Round 18.

Friday’s bounce takes place at 7:50pm AEST. 

Elimination final team v Sydney


Brodie Kemp

Jacob Weitering

Nic Newman


Alex Cincotta

Mitch McGovern

Adam Saad


Blake Acres

Patrick Cripps

Sam Docherty


Jack Martin

Harry McKay

David Cuningham


Lachie Fogarty

Charlie Curnow

Matthew Owies


Marc Pittonet

Adam Cerra

Sam Walsh


Matthew Cottrell

Tom De Koning

George Hewett


Caleb Marchbank




Paddy Dow

Zac Fisher

Ollie Hollands


Jesse Motlop



Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty, Marc Pittonet
Out: Paddy Dow, Corey Durdin, Zac Fisher, Ollie Hollands

After starting the last game as sub, Caleb Marchbank has been elevated into the starting 22.