Main content

Walsh wins Northern Blues B&F

Brad Walsh poses with the 2015 Laurie Hill Trophy. (Photo: Tim Murdoch)
Brad Walsh poses with the 2015 Laurie Hill Trophy. (Photo: Tim Murdoch)

Carlton rookie Brad Walsh has taken away the 2015 Laurie Hill Trophy as the Northern Blues’ best and fairest player this season.

Walsh was Northern’s most consistent performer in his 16 VFL games, triumphing ahead of place-getters Nick Graham (second), Mark Whiley and Northern Blues captain Brent Bransgrove (equal third).

Walsh polled in a team-high 11 matches on the night including his last six matches of the season, on his way to a vote count of 82 for the year - 26 ahead of Graham in second place. 

His regularity in performance meant he was the runaway winner on the night, taking the lead after Round 13 following Graham’s early-season ascendancy.

The hard-working inside midfielder was a deserved winner on the night, as a reward for unwavering consistency and effort in 2015.

A familiar face in what was otherwise a revolving door in the Northern midfield, Walsh didn’t drop below 18 disposals for the season and was in his side’s top six ball-winners every week.

In his maiden year on Carlton’s list, the West Australian said he was honoured to come away with the Laurie Hill Trophy for season 2015.

Walsh’s good form saw him rewarded with a senior call-up for Carlton for three AFL games: a tally he is hoping to build on next season.

As both Carlton and the Northern Blues were rocked by injury, Walsh constant presence held him in good stead. He played the equal-second most games for Northern this year, behind only 2014 Laurie Hill Trophy winner Tom Wilson.

Walsh is the youngest player to win the award in the last decade and the first Carlton-listed player to win it since Brock McLean in 2011.


Brad Walsh - 82
Nick Graham - 56
Mark Whiley, Brent Bransgrove - 51
David Ellard - 46
Liam Jones - 45
Tom Wilson - 43
Keiran McGuinness, Nick Holman - 38
Tom Fields - 35

Dean Soncin - 72
Zach Ballard - 61
Ben Walton, Sam Cattapan - 46
Ben Toman - 35
Matthew Haynes, Steve Murray, Jack Johnston - 34