Main content

Cripps named All Australian

Crippa's AA year Watch the best of Patrick Cripps in action after the midfield bull made his first All Australian side.

Carlton vice-captain Patrick Cripps has been recognised for his outstanding season, named in the 2018 Virgin Australia AFL All Australian team.

This marks the midfielder’s first appearance in the final 22, after it was revealed on Monday that he had made the initial 40-man squad.

Cripps becomes the second Carlton player in as many years to make the coveted All Australian team, after defender Sam Docherty received the nod in 2017.

As the Blues’ 2015 John Nicholls Medallist, Cripps was a shining light for Carlton this season, smashing statistical records, mentoring his younger teammates and taking his game to a new level.

At the conclusion of the 23-round competition, he ranked No.1 at the Club for disposals, contested possessions, handballs, clearances, score involvements and effective disposals. Cripps also ranked second for tackles behind fellow midfielder Ed Curnow.

On Saturday night, Cripps broke the record for most contested possessions in a home-and-away season, amassing 388 to surpass Patrick Dangerfield’s 386 set in 2017.


Not surprisingly, with an average of 17.64 contested possessions per game, the 23-year-old topped the league in this statistical category and narrowly finished behind Tom Mitchell for the most clearances in the AFL this season. 

The All Australian selection panel comprised of: Gillon McLachlan (chairman), Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Danny Frawley, Steve Hocking, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson Dand Warren Tredrea.

The 2018 Virgin Australia AFL All Australian team:


Tom Stewart Alex Rance Rory Laird
Half-backs Shannon Hurn Jeremy McGovern Lachie Whitfield
Centreline Andrew Gaff Dustin Martin Steele Sidebottom
Half-forwards Patrick Dangerfield Lance Franklin Robbie Gray
Forwards Jack Gunston Jack Riewoldt Luke Breust
Rovers Max Gawn Patrick Cripps Tom Mitchell
Interchange Brodie Grundy Clayton Oliver Shaun Higgins
Shane Edwards