Main content

VFLW team selection: Round 15

THE VFLW Blues will welcome the key inclusion of AFLW star Jess Hosking for Saturday’s Round 15 clash with Darebin. 

After last week’s loss to against the Tigers, the Blues will go into Saturday’s game at La Trobe University looking to rebound with a strong performance against Darebin.

Jess Hosking’s inclusion, who was a late out in Round 14, will bring the side some extra experience and confidence going into the clash. 

Hosking is one of four inclusions, joining impressive AFLW-listed youngsters Georgia Gee and Charlotte Wilson. Isobel Dakis Rofe also comes into the side for her fourth game of the season.


Captain Nat Plane has been named as an emergency for the clash after missing last week’s game, along with defender Jorja Borg.

However, the Blues will be without All-Australian Gab Pound and the experienced Katie Loynes, who have shown their wares at both AFLW and VFLW level. Emerson Woods also comes from the side, as does Lauren Munday. 

The Blues showed some encouraging signs in Round 14 despite the result, with Sarah Wright’s contested work being the shining light. 

The side’s pressure and tackling intensity that they displayed against the Tigers was also encouraging: building on that across four quarters will be crucial if the Blues are to come away with a win against the Falcons. 

The Round 15 VFLW clash will be held at La Trobe University, with a starting time of 11am.

Team Selection
B 5. A McKay 37. M Clifford 66. M Neill
HB 8. C Bromage 55. G Wright 44. A Prins
C 7. S Wright 2. K Loynes 9. B Gurr
HF 19. G Gee 20. C Wilson 11. J Hosking
F 34. G Parker 12. S Cubasch 40. S Mason
R 90. J Nelson 45. L Brazzale* 21. T Cassar
Int 82. P Chisholm 63. S Craige 31. M Jarvis
  41. I Dakis Rofe    
Emg 50. J Borg 32. N Plane 39. C Leighton
23P 17. B Gutknecht