Have Your Say
Who will be the fifth player to win the John Nicholls Medal.?
Who will finish 1-2-3 in the 2008 John Nicholls Medal.?
Share your thoughts with other Blues fans.
Click here to Have Your Say

Many can lay claim to winning the club’s best and fairest, but few can attest to taking out its most prestigious individual award in a premiership year.

Carlton senior coach Brett Ratten is one of the few.

In 1995, the no-frills in-an-under centreman from Yarra Glen savoured what was surely the finest hour of his football career. On the end of the all-conquering Grand Final victory over Geelong, Ratten was adjudged winner of the Robert Reynolds Trophy with 174 votes from Craig Bradley (128) and Stephen Silvagni (118).

Ironically, Ratten was overlooked for All-Australian honours that year, as was the dual Brownlow Medallist and winner of the 1995 Norm Smith Medal, Greg Williams. Bradley, Silvagni, Ang Christou, Anthony Koutoufides and Justin Madden were named in the All-Australian team.

Nineteen ninety-five would be the first of three best and fairest seasons for Ratten, who backed it up in 1997 and again in 2000 when he tied with Scott Camporeale.

Since the Robert Reynolds Trophy was introduced in 1934, only 12 players have been adjudged club champion in a premiership season – “Micky” Crisp (1938), Ron Savage (1945), Bert Deacon and Ern Henfry (1947), Sergio Silvagni (1968), Adrian Gallagher (1970), Geoff Southby (1972), Mike Fitzpatrick (1979), Ken Hunter (1981), Jim Buckley (1982), Stephen Kernahan (1987) and Ratten (1995).

Deacon also took out the 1947 Brownlow Medal.

Carlton Best & Fairest
Limited Tickets still available
John Nicholls Medal
Thursday, September 11
7.00pm for 7.30pm
Crown Palladium
Dress – Lounge Suit for men, Cocktail for Women
$165 per head – Three course dinner with premium beverages

To book contact Adam on (03 9389 6255 or Cameron on (03) 9389 6291.
Click here to download the booking form.