THE AFL today announced eight people from across the wider football industry will join the AFL Competition Committee ahead of its meeting to be held next month on August 25, 2021.
AFL Executive General Manager Football Operations Andrew Dillon, who will chair the group, welcomed the new members of the Committee and provided an update ahead of the upcoming meeting.


“I welcome each new member of the AFL Competition Committee and look forward to their perspectives as representatives across many areas of the game,” Mr Dillon said.
“Through each addition, we are seeking to ensure a diversity of views and find a balance of representation across players, coaches, club administrators and game officials from a range of backgrounds and geographic locations, who are all experienced football personnel.

“Simone Wilkie will represent the AFL Commission while Kylie Watson-Wheeler (Western Bulldogs) and Simon Garlick (Fremantle) will provide valuable contributions as a Club President and Club CEO, respectively. 
“Josh Mahoney (Essendon) and Alan Richardson (Melbourne) currently manage AFL football programs and will provide valuable insights while Laura Kane (North Melbourne) – who has recently departed the AFLW Competition Committee – adds a broad skillset having worked closely with and balanced men’s and women’s programs.
“Brett Ratten (St Kilda) will add the perspective of a current Head Coach and Jacob Weitering’s (Carlton) unique insights as a player will be of great value to the Committee.
“I look forward to this group playing a role in advancing the game while protecting its heritage.”


Mr Dillon said the Committee will guide discussion around decision-making for the AFL Commission and AFL Executive on key aspects of the future direction of the AFL Competition.
“Over the course of the 2021 season, we have sought to gather as much information, data and ideas as possible ahead of this meeting.
“The agenda for the August meeting of the Committee will see discussion on a range of areas including Fixturing, Game Analysis and the Industry Workforce Model.”

Mr Dillon also thanked the departing members for their contribution on the Competition Committee.
“I would also like to thank departing members Steve Hocking (former Chair), Jason Ball (former AFL Commissioner), Colin Carter (former Geelong Cats President), Eddie McGuire (former Collingwood President) and Andrew Fagan (former Adelaide Crows CEO) for their contribution as inaugural AFL Competition Committee members.”

Departing AFL Competition Committee Members:
Jason Ball – former AFL Commissioner
Steve Hocking – former AFL EGM Football Operations and Committee Chair
Colin Carter – former Geelong Cats President
Eddie McGuire – former Collingwood President
Andrew Fagan – former Adelaide Crows CEO
New AFL Competition Committee Members:
Simone Wilkie – AFL Commissioner
Kylie Watson-Wheeler – Western Bulldogs President
Simon Garlick – Fremantle CEO
Josh Mahoney – Essendon GM Football
Alan Richardson – Melbourne GM Football
Laura Kane – North Melbourne GM Strategy and Football Operations
Brett Ratten – St Kilda Head Coach
Jacob Weitering – Carlton Player
The 2021 AFL Competition Committee:
Simone Wilkie (AFL), Andrew Dillon (AFL), Kylie Rogers (AFL), Peggy O’Neal (Richmond), Andrew Ireland (Sydney Swans), Kylie Watson-Wheeler (Western Bulldogs), Justin Reeves (Hawthorn), Simon Garlick (Fremantle), Chris Davies (Port Adelaide), Craig Vozzo (West Coast Eagles), Josh Mahoney (Essendon), Laura Kane (North Melbourne), Alan Richardson (Melbourne), Chris Fagan (Brisbane Lions), Brett Ratten (St Kilda), Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats), Stephen Coniglio (GWS GIANTS), Jacob Weitering (Carlton), Brett Murphy (AFLPA), Nicole Livingstone (AFL GM Women's Football), Rob Auld (GM AFL Competitions).
A list of current members and their roles is detailed in the appendix here.
About the AFL Competition Committee
Established in 2018, the Committee has played an important role in assisting the AFL Executive and Commission with its deliberations relating to the present and future state of the game. The Committee is utilised to make assessments, canvass views, test theories and provide comments and recommendations regarding the AFL Competition to the AFL Commission – the independent body charged with the ultimate decision-making responsibility for all elements of Australian Football.