01:20 Mins
Published on

AFLW Squad Selection | Round 2

Jacqueline Guldon brings you all the team selection news ahead of our AFL Women's game against Collingwood.

Published on

SINCE day one.

The Hosking twins will line up in Navy Blue together for the first time in 2020.

Jess Hosking has been named in the midfield in the latest chapter of an iconic rivalry at Ikon Park, when Carlton and Collingwood meet on Sunday afternoon.

It will be Hosking’s appearance for 2020 after missing Round 1, with the inaugural Game Changer replacing Jayde Van Dyk. The second-year Blue will miss this weekend’s game due to an ankle injury.

While Hosking is a certain inclusion after being named on the ground, there could be further changes for the Blues in the lead-up to Sunday.

Jess Edwards and Abbie McKay have been named on the extended bench after being emergencies for the Round 1 clash with Richmond.

They’re joined on the extended bench by Sarah Hosking, Katie Loynes, Natalie Plane, Darcy Vescio and Brooke Walker.

After realising their dream this time last week when they were named in the team, Carlton’s four Round 1 debutants - Joanne Doonan, Grace Egan, Vaomua Laloifi and Lucy McEvoy - have reprised their roles in the starting line-up.

There could prove to be a milestone of sorts this weekend, with four Blues in line to play their 25th games for the Club.

Maintaining a 100 percent record since the first ever game against Collingwood, the quarter of Downie, Sarah Hosking, Gab Pound and Vescio could combine for a century of games in Navy Blue.

The final team will be announced on Friday at 5pm.


Carlton's Round 2 squad
Backs: 6. Gab Pound 20. Charlotte Wilson  
Half-backs: 9. Kerryn Harrington 8. Vaomua Laloifi 12. Lauren Brazzale
Centreline: 15. Chloe Dalton 19. Georgia Gee 11. Jess Hosking
Half-forwards: 21. Nicola Stevens 7. Tayla Harris 13. Lucy McEvoy
Forwards: 30. Alison Downie 26. Joanne Doonan  
Followers: 16. Breann Moody 1. Grace Egan 4. Madison Prespakis
Interchange: 10. Sarah Hosking 32. Natalie Plane 14. Brooke Walker
  2. Katie Loynes 3. Darcy Vescio 25. Jess Edwards
  5. Abbie McKay